Contact Us Services Staff Only
Waivered Service Homes

Home and Community Based
Service Waivered Homes

Home and Community Based Service Waivered Homes

"DRCC really cares about their employees, they do everything they can to make sure we are happy. "

In 1981 the federal government began allowing states to apply for waivers of certain Medicaid requirements when providing residential services to individuals who were developmentally disabled. These waivers, known as Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) enabled services to be freed up from some of the regulatory requirements which were not conducive to creating homes which reflected a typical home environment. It allowed the services to focus more on developing small, comfortable homes where individuals could fully participate in the home's routines and more effectively learn meaningful skills. DRCC has 36 Waivered homes, supporting over 120 individuals.